Fast Food is My Nemesis

 

It’s true…sad…but true.

Last year, we tried clean eating, because my husband was on a weird diet to combat psoriasis. And it worked for a little while. But the psoriasis came back, and we all really missed red meat, pork roast and tomatoes. So, gradually, red meat came back and so did tomatoes which led to fast food coming back too.

We don’t eat it all the time. I mean, I don’t even drive, so it’s not like I’m out running errands and it’s just easier to pick up than cooking dinner.

I just really HATE to cook!

I have a whole collection of food blogger recipes and pinterest recipes that I’ve collected over time. I’m even fairly budget-conscious, so I plan my meals in advance, and only buy what I need.

But cooking! UGH!

I blame part of it on my kids (not really) because they aren’t big eaters either. And 5 days out of the week, I hear “what’s that?” while I’m making dinner. And sometimes I agree with them.

Tonight, we were supposed to have chili with pancake batter drop biscuits. Easy, right? But I just can’t bring myself to cook it. That, and my husband ate the leftover stew meat that was going to go in it. Oh, and I’m not a fan of chili. And the kids even grumbled at the idea.

Right now, a burger with cheese and onions and a side of fries sounds so good. My mouth watered just saying that!

I shouldn’t…I really shouldn’t. But I promise I’ll make up for it with a balanced meal tomorrow with chicken and vegetables and everything. But tonight…I want that cheeseburger!

Now to convince my husband to pick it up on his way home. He stands between me and my craving.

I justify this by saying that I don’t spend my money on clothes (I live in yoga pants and t-shirts), I don’t go out and party (I haven’t had a drink in months – not even wine), I don’t even get my hair colored or styled (I’m very low maintenance), and I can’t even tell you what the last movie was that I saw in the theater …except I NEED my fast food fix every few weeks.

Is that a crime? Who else is willing to fess up?

2 thoughts on “Fast Food is My Nemesis

  1. I don’t eat out much. But, my splurge is Disney. I justify the vacations by saying I don’t buy new furniture or cars. Lol. We all have something we feel a tad guilty about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

