Organizing Fail

Nothing drives me more insane than being unorganized. Sometimes it can’t be avoided: like that pile of school papers sitting on the kitchen counter of upcoming events (there’s only so much that will fit on the refrigerator), or the pile of bills waiting to be paid. I’ve learned to accept that some things just don’t have a place every moment.

But then there are the things like chargers and ear buds that are strewn across table tops and desks. THOSE things drive me nuts!

At first I sewed this clever organizer that had a little strap for each item, then the entire thing could be rolled up and tucked into a drawer nicely. Thank you, pinterest. I thought I’d solved the problem. Every cord and charger would have a neat little home. Boy was I wrong! I think my family used it maybe once or twice. And I was STILL the one picking up the cords and putting them away, only to have them strewn across the table hours later.

Big Fail!

Next, I saw another pinterest post where they had used empty mint containers for the earbuds, and a clever box with a section for each charger – each section was even labeled. Genius, right?

Again…FAIL!

See, there’s one thing that all the organizers don’t tell you about those ingenious organizing ways…EVERYONE HAS TO ACTUALLY USE THEM for it to be effective.

Everyone has to be on board and feel as passionately about organizing as the one who made the fancy organizer.

My family, the ones who use the earbuds and chargers, do NOT share in my passion. It doesn’t bother them to have to hunt for their chargers and earbuds, and then untangle them to use them. Of course, these are the same people who consider the floor as a very low shelf!

So after many different trial and error options, my ingenious organizing solutions? A BOX! That’s right…a plain old box. Actually it’s one of those photo boxes from the craft store that was on sale for $2.50. And I didn’t have to put in ANY effort to make it!

So far it’s working out great. They just have to roll up the cords, and toss it into the box – no effort whatsoever! And I even threw in a few empty mint containers for earbuds. They can choose to use them or not. But the best part is I DON’T HAVE TO LOOK AT THE MESS ANYMORE!

Leave a Reply

