What Parents Do to Make Things Last

 

shoes-1509209_1920

I’m replacing the 2nd pair of sneakers that my son has had since school started in September! Already!

It doesn’t matter whether I buy name brand or Target specials (no offense Target), he is the Sneaker Destructor: villain to sneakers everywhere.

It made me think about the things that my parents used to do to make our belongings last, before the world was so “disposable.”

I grew up in the 70s and 80s (GenX), and when something broke or started to wear out, they did everything they could to stretch as much life out of it as they could. Throwing something away was a last resort.

In the early 70s, my brothers were subjected to jeans made of indestructible fabric. They were called Toughskins and they were horribly uncomfortable. They didn’t bend, but Toughskins could take a beating. But just to be sure they got the most wear out of them, before my brothers even wore them, my mom would reinforce the knees with iron-on denim patches. Fortunately for their reputations, she put the patches on the inside of the pants. But it only made them less flexible.

And when the soles of sneakers started to wear out she’d reach for the “Shoo Goo.” Before she’d spend a dime on a new pair of sneakers, she would “Shoo Goo” the heck out of the sneakers. It wasn’t until a toe would poke through the top of the shoe that she’d have to break down and buy a new pair. Maybe I should invest in a tube.

My mom would also re-use any plastic food container. I never saw her purchase any Tupperware. Instead, she re-used every margarine, Cool Whip, and cottage cheese container over and over again. She still does it to this day.

My dad could fix anything. Whether it was electronic, made of glass or wood, belonged on the car, or belonged in the house, with enough tinkering, he could fix it. And this was before the internet, so he didn’t have any YouTube videos for reference. Just good, old-fashioned, common sense got him through it.

I think I inherited a little bit of their attitude of preservation. My husband laughs when he comes home and sees me re-gluing the leg on a chair, or weaving my kids’ clothes back together. But he’s appreciative when it’s HIS favorite shirt or comfortable sweatpants that I’ve mended.

Tomorrow we’ll go buy a new pair of sneakers, because my son’s toe is poking through the top and Shoo Goo won’t really help with that. If only Toughskins made sneakers that would keep the Sneaker Destructor at bay.

What crazy things do you do to stretch the life of your things?

Leave a Reply

