Pacing and talking

dancing-1245865_1920

After I married my husband, we had frequent family get-together’s at his mother’s house for holidays and birthdays. That was when I first saw evidence of “The Pacing Gene.”

Okay, it’s not a real “gene” per se, but there I was, seated on the couch, watching my husband and his two brothers pace around the small apartment discussing whether or not Marvel was superior to DC Comics. #nerdalert

It was mesmerizing. The weird part was that no one else seemed to notice the incessant pacing. It was dizzying. The more they talked, the more they paced, the more passionate they got about their point of view, and the louder the volume grew in the room. I was fascinated, and a little scared, I have to tell you.

I come from a family of jokers, who tease one another, but we don’t pace. None of us.

When I asked my husband about it, he seemed to not even realize they did it.

So now 17 years into our marriage, our daughter, now 14, has the pacing gene! #itsgenetic

When she’s telling a story…she paces. When she’s discussing an idea for her latest OC…she paces. When talking on the phone…she paces. When she is relaying facts about her day at school…you guessed it…she paces.

At first, I was concerned. But it turns out that pacing is actually GOOD for the imagination.

It gets the oxygen flowing to the brain, it influences our problem solving skills, and it can enhance memory and reduce stress and anxiety. Apparently, pacing acts somewhat like a miniature “Power Walk.”

How about you? Does pacing help you solve problems and make you more creative?

2 thoughts on “Pacing and talking

Leave a Reply

