Sweet Boy, Moms Don’t Get Days Off

housewife-23868_1280

This morning, when I woke up my 10 year old son at the crack of dawn, 6:30am to be exact, he groaned and made it very obvious that getting up for school was the last thing on his mind. Yeah, kid…I know just how you feel.

But a Mom’s gotta do what a Mom’s gotta do, otherwise no one would EVER get up for school.

He then told me that he wanted to take the day off like me! What?! Day off?! In my dreams!

Oh, sure, I work part time, and happen to have Monday’s off from my paying job. But I would hardly call it a DAY OFF.

On Mondays I take care of all the “business” of being a homemaker.

For instance, today there were 7 loads of laundry, general picking up of the weekend clutter, not to mention a myriad of phone calls to doctors, insurance, doctor appointments, Spring soccer to enroll in, filing, cleaning, etc.

Oh, and lest we forget helping with homework once the kids get home, planning dinner…whew…I’m pooped.

Sure it’s not digging ditches, or saving lives (not everyday), but it never stops.

I know this is nothing new to millions of moms and dads out there, but apparently it is to our kids.

So if you’re having a busy day, don’t forget to take a few moments and put your feet up, and do something for yourself, because you are the only one who can make that happen. And you deserve it. Because it starts all over again in a few minutes.

One thought on “Sweet Boy, Moms Don’t Get Days Off

  1. Oh my gosh, that is hilarious! My five year old told me, when he knew I was sick and had a fever, that it was “opposite day and that yes means no and no means yes, and can I have candy for breakfast?” When I finally processed this announcement I told him that he will never be allowed to have candy for breakfast on ANY day, and he walked away with his head hung low. That boy is now almost 21 years old and I am sure he has had lots of candy for breakfast, but it is not my fault now-I tried my best!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and hang in there, these kids do turn out pretty great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

