Shaving relief…at last

shave-273115_1920

I don’t write about beauty very often…okay…ever. I mean, I am a t-shirt and jeans girls through and through. Much to my husband’s chagrin, I don’t polish my nails, color my hair (professionally or regularly), wear makeup unless I absolutely have to, and when I go shopping I usually come home with more things for my kids than I do for myself. #notashopper

But I have to share this beauty tip I just discovered.

For years, I’ve been suffering through horrible itchy legs after shaving. It’s not razor burn. I’m talking about a burning itching sensation that starts immediately after shaving and never goes away, because it runs into the next shaving cycle. #stopthepain

I know there are others out there like me, because I’ve seen you on message boards when I’ve been searching desperately for a “cure.”

At first I thought it was our water. It seemed to start when we moved to the Mid-Atlantic a few years ago, and for the first time experienced “hard water.” So I bought a filter for the shower. It didn’t help.

It got so bad, that I even gave up shaving for a week. Sorry, TMI, but that’s how desperate I was.

Then last night I ran across a miracle on a message board.

Someone explained that shaving with the newer multi-blade razors, even if they have a lubricant strip on them, actually irritates your skin more than the simple, single-use, single blade razors. (My pocket book liked the sound of that – razor blades are crazy expensive)

So here’s the solution: Get one of those disposable single blade (I had a double) razors; Lather your legs up with something like Cetaphil skin cleanser; And then shave…now here’s the key…WITH THE HAIR, as in shave DOWN (from knee to ankle) rather than up, and rinse as usual! You won’t get a super smooth shave, but who cares! No one but you will be able to tell. And you won’t be miserable!

I didn’t have any Cetaphil on hand, but I also read on that same message board that someone used hair conditioner. I happen to use Mane’N Tail Shampoo and Conditioner (which I highly recommend for your hair), so I tried shaving using that conditioner… IT WORKED! Hallelujah!

I shaved my legs, and then didn’t spend the next 5 hours (or longer) scratching in pain. Sweet relief!

This might not be news to some of you, but if it helps even one of you, then my work here is done.

So that’s all the beauty tips I’ve got, well, that and O’Keeffe’s Working Hands is great for winter elbows!

And if you happen to work for any of the above mentioned companies, I’ll happily collect my commission now.

Leave a Reply

