End of NaNoWriMo

once-upon-a-time-719174_1920

It’s almost the end of November which also means that you should be reaching your 50,000 words if you participated this year. If you have, Congrats! Most people will never even start a novel their entire lives, so kudos for reaching such an amazing goal. #gonanowrimo

I wish I could say that I reached it with you, but unless I’m going to be able to write approximately 35,000 words in the next few days, then I won’t quite make it this year. But I’m okay with that. #nanowrimofail

I had a lot on my plate with month which encroached on my creative time.

Writers participate in NaNoWriMo for a lot of different reasons. Some start a novel from scratch, some use it to finish a current WIP, but whatever your purpose, it’s a great launching pad.

I used it to find out that the manuscript I was working on was meandering and really going nowhere. I’m a “Panster” and not an “Outliner,” so it’s a risk I always take when I start a new story. #panstersunite

The problem with my current WIP?

I was being way too nice to my characters. I needed to rough them up.

My premise is good and my characters have good bones, but those bones need to be broken, put in a sling and broken again to make an amazing story. Characters need to fight for something, whether it’s a moral dilemma, a physical challenge or a person who is standing in the way of their goal. That’s what keeps readers reading.

So I did the unthinkable, something they tell you not to do…I started editing. Instead of having a side character as a handsome love interest, he became the main character’s nemesis, brash and insulting to her respectability. The story now has so much more depth and is, quite frankly, more fun to write.

Maybe now the ideas will start to flow, and I can take all the baggage from my messy November and channel it into my WIP.

Did you reach your 50,000 words?

3 thoughts on “End of NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

