Anything but politics

woman-609252_1920

The blogging world seems relatively quiet this week, unless you want to talk about politics.

I DON’T.

I am way past my fill with politics. The way our politicians are behaving is anything but Presidential these days. BOTH of them. I’m never sure if I’ve turned on the news or an episode of TMZ or Jerry Springer. It’s disgraceful and I am sick of it. Get over yourselves and start showing us what you can do FOR our country.

So that’s it…that’s the extent of my political opinions. Believe me, I have more, but I won’t be sharing them here.

So…what’s new with YOU?

Here are a few good things from the week that AREN’T political.

My husband starts his new job on Monday! Praise God! An answer to prayer! Life can get back to “normal.” #Godisgood

Halloween is around the corner, and my daughter and I have plans to start on her costume this weekend. She’s going as an anime character named Monet – she’s a harpy with green hair, giant angel wings, bird legs and talons. Not entirely sure how we’re going to pull this off, but it could be an adventure. #futureblogpost

My son is going as a “Steam Punk Guy” – his words, not mine. That shouldn’t be too hard. We should be able to pull things from other costumes and from our own closets to put that together.

The house needs a really good cleaning. I’ve had a cold-flu thing that’s been holding on for the last two weeks, and I’m finally feeling good enough to get back to normal. Not the most exciting plan, but, trust me…it’s necessary.

I can finally get back to writing. I’ve been so distracted with our current unemployment status, that writing has fallen by the wayside, and I need to focus on my current work in progress. I plan on using NaNoWriMo to finish it.

Celebrate! We’re going out this weekend to celebrate the NEW EMPLOYMENT status! Maybe dinner, maybe a movie, maybe even something with the kids. They have been so understanding during this time and deserve to be part of the celebration too.

Planning for Christmas – Yes…I said it. I need to start keeping an eye out for presents. Every year I say I’m going to get started early, and well…maybe THIS will be the year I actually do. And, yes, I am aware that some of you started your Christmas shopping in July, and are laughing that I consider October “early.”

Fall – the leaves are starting to change and I can’t wait to pull my warm, cozy sweaters out of the back of the closet. Maybe this year we’ll convince the kids to go apple picking. I know, it’s a long shot, but miracles can happen, right?

What are you looking forward to? Are you as tired of politics as I am?

Leave a Reply

