Writing for my toughest critics…my kids

fantasy-1481583_1280

I usually write Women’s Fiction. Not romantic women’s fiction, but stories about women of all ages in real-life situations.

I’ve mentioned before that I live with a bunch of nerds who all prefer fantasy, manga, or comic books, so getting one of them to listen to my story ideas or help me proofread is next to impossible.

I recently decided to branch out, if you will. With NaNoWriMo coming up, I figured it would be a perfect time to try something different: YA Fantasy. Besides, there’s a good chance I might never be published, which leads me to question, just who am I writing for?

It would be really nice to write something that my kids might actually want to, or at least pretend to, read.

Now I realize that there’s no guarantee they will read this one either. After all, they are all a bit particular. #booksnobs

My daughter cried (One Piece Spoiler Alert!) when Trafalgar Law died in the One Piece series. And both my daughter and son refuse to watch the Percy Jackson movies because the actors don’t match the book characters. So their standards are a bit high.

Let’s face it…my first attempt at YA fantasy doesn’t stand a chance. And I haven’t even written it yet! But what have I got to lose? If nothing else, it could be a really cheesy comedy.

As I said earlier, there’s a good chance I might never be published, at least in New York Best Seller standards. But I have this “back-up” fantasy. One day, when I’m gone, my grand kids will be going through my belongings and find my writing: all my poems, my short stories, my novels, and my unfinished manuscripts. And it will inspire one of them and THEY will write a New York Best Seller.

Is anyone else participating in NaNoWriMo this year? Are you trying something different?

Who is your toughest critic?

Leave a Reply

