How Do Your Clothes Make You Feel?

pretty-woman-in-field-820477_1920

Somewhere around 2010, I saw Rhea Perlman in an Off-Broadway play called “Love, Loss and What I Wore.” Based on the book by Ilene Beckerman, it had a rotating cast and was a collection of stories by Nora Ephron and Delia Ephron.

It brilliantly showed the correlation we women have to occasions in our lives, both good and bad and how we can recall what we were wearing at the time. #clothesmakethewoman

Fashion has never been one of my strong suits. I’m a t-shirt and jeans girl, much to the chagrin of my husband. So to draw parallels between my clothes and love and loss is sort of a blur.

But a few stand out in my mind.

My Prom Dress – it was designed and handmade by my sister-in-law. It was an original, and I felt fabulous in it. Turquoise satin, one shoulder toga sort of design, only much more sleek and sexy. But still appropriate for a 17-year old.It was a fun and memorable night, and to this day, I still talk to many of the people that were there. Sadly, the dress won’t be passed down…I spilled champagne down the front of it, and never had it cleaned. (I was under age, and shouldn’t have been drinking).

My Wedding Dress – probably the heaviest dress I’ve ever worn. It was not my first choice. I had envisioned a short sleeved, lace bodice with pearls down the back, with a round neckline and an a-line sort of skirt that dusted the floor. What I got was a long-sleeved, poofy-shouldered, sweatheart-neckline, with a full skirt that wasn’t hemmed short enough so I had to sort of kick my feet to keep from stepping on the skirt and tripping as I walked down the aisle. Someone convinced me to “go big” and “wear something I wouldn’t normally wear.” My favorite part of the dress was the veil and the hanky that I handmade from pieces of my mother’s wedding gown that I couldn’t wear because it had yellowed over time. But the day was beautiful, and awkward, and I got to marry my best friend.

My two pairs of Chemin de Fer jeans – One pair was kelly green and the other was a pair of purple, bell-bottom sailor pants. Don’t judge…it was 1978. I begged for weeks for those jeans. I still can’t believe my mother actually gave in. I wore those jeans like a badge of honor. I think the only reason I got them was because they were probably marked down.

My black suede over-the-knee, lace-up-the-back boots from Wild Pair – I had to put them on layaway so I could pay for them myself with my first job at Blue Chip Cookies. I may still have those in a closet somewhere. I wore them everywhere. They made me feel “edgy.”

A Hospital Gown – I know…it’s a weird one. But it’s what I was wearing my kids were born. It’s what I have on in the pictures of two of the happiest occasions in my life.

So, how about you? Does fashion cause you to reminisce? Was it a dress, or a hat, or a pair of shoes?

Leave a Reply

