When a “DIY Hack” isn’t really a “Hack”

pay-706798_1280When “DIY Hacks” take advantage of the system

I’m all for “Hacks” and saving money. Let’s face it…I’m as budget conscious as the next gal.

I love that I can clean my shower with baking soda and a scrub brush. Baking soda is super cheap, I don’t have to wear a gas mask to protect myself from the fumes as with other shower cleaners, and if I happen to miss a spot while rinsing, big deal. I can always finish rinsing the shower the next time I’m actually taking a shower. Who can beat that? #nofumecleaning

But I take issue when “hacks” abuse the system. Then, it’s no longer a “hack.”

I’ve wanted to write a post about Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library , but just haven’t had the chance yet, so I searched to see if anyone else had. If you don’t know what the Imagination Library is, you should check it out and see how you can get involved. In a nutshell, Dolly Parton started the charity as a way to foster literacy by giving books to children regardless of their income. To me, that means that kids who may not be able to afford books now have a resource for them. Great idea! #godolly

So imagine how surprised and disappointed I was to find it on a Mom Blog’s Hack list as a way to “get free books.” Sorry…not the same thing! If you can afford to buy your own book, then buy one for someone else.

I’ve also seen “hacks” regarding service animals. One Pinterest “Hack” said to register your animal as a “service animal” then you can take it with you wherever you want. Again…not the same thing! I’m sure your pet is just as lovely as everyone else’s, but if you don’t need a service animal, then don’t PRETEND it is one.

As I said earlier, I LOVE “hacks,” but NOT at the expense of someone else. Not if the “hack” requires you to misuse the system, or manipulate the circumstances at the risk of ruining the service being provided for those who really need it.

That being said, and knowing what kind of a lovely person Dolly Parton seems to be, I’m sure she would not turn down any parent if they applied for the Imagination Library Program. I just don’t think it’s what she intended for the program.

I think that we should require a little more from ourselves. We should put more thought into our choices. We should GIVE a little more instead of trying to TAKE what we can for FREE every chance we get.

Just because you CAN get it for free, doesn’t mean that you SHOULD get it for free.

Am I the only one that’s bothered by this trend?

2 thoughts on “When a “DIY Hack” isn’t really a “Hack”

Leave a Reply

