Looking for “Me Time”

woman-1574609_1920

I can’t complete a thought…wait…hold on…my son is asking me something…

As I was saying, I can’t complete a thought. Since I last was able to sit down and write, the day my husband got laid off, I have not been able to sit down and write again. Even this moment is a struggle.

My days have been spent working at my own job, supporting his job search, helping him polish his resume, filling out all the necessary paperwork after you lose a job, and getting things done before school starts.

Things have been a little hectic. After I get off work, I help him search online job boards and postings (which takes more time than looking through pinterest but isn’t nearly as fun), until it’s time to make dinner. Then after dinner and dishes, when I finally get a chance to sit down, my kids need me. They’ve been really good during the day…of course I have electronics to thank for that. And I hate to turn them away in the evenings after I’ve barely spoken to them all day.

Needless to say, there has been no “me time” to speak of.

Now, where was I going with this? Oh, yeah…completing a thought.

I’ve never experienced this sort of craziness before. Even when they were babies, I still managed to squeeze in a cup of coffee with a friend now and then. But the mental stress that we’re experiencing this past week is taxing.

I know this is a season in life. We’ll get through it.

The kids will be back at school in a few weeks, and we’ll start a routine again, which will actually be sort of comforting. I’m a routine sort of gal. I like things planned and predictable, and when they aren’t, I feel as though I have to be doing something to fix whatever feels broken. I forget to just breathe.

I’ve pulled away from a few people this past week, mostly because I don’t want “people” to get in my head. I know God has a plan, and I want to hear His plan and not the plans of others, though support is always welcome.

The end of this season can’t come soon enough. I just keep saying, “Don’t give up, give it up to God.”

4 thoughts on “Looking for “Me Time”

  1. I sure do get this — especially the part about pulling away from people. My stress is different from what you’re going through but needing to hear God’s voice as opposed to people’s is it exactly, even though my beliefs are slightly different. Still. The quiet and tuning out the world has helped me tremendously over the past year. Thinking of you and your family and sending lots of prayers, love and happy thought as you navigate this challenging time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words. By the way, I love how you mention that our beliefs may be slightly different, but we can still understand one another 🙂 I think that’s one of the main differences between WordPress and other outlets (ie. FB, Twitter, etc) – there’s a mutual respect. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

