When Things Don’t Go as Planned

directory-466935_1280

When my husband came home from work at 10:30 this morning, I knew there was trouble.

In the blink of an eye, things changed. He doesn’t have a job to go back to tomorrow, or the next day. We’ve become a statistic of this hard hit economy.

This isn’t the first time we’ve experienced a lay-off in our marriage. But it is the first time our kids will experience such a life altering event. I would be lying if I didn’t say I was stressed. We all are. I have faith that God will provide, and that everything happens for a reason, but it doesn’t make it any easier to explain to the kids…or does it?

The timing of this event is interesting.

We recently paid off some outstanding medical and dental bills that I mentioned in an earlier post. I also resumed working for an old employer which I didn’t see coming at all. #dontburnbridges

And we just bought a car (used, of course) last weekend, because the choice was either continue to pour thousands of dollars into keeping the old minivan alive, or trade it in for next to nothing before it completely died. Had we waited until this weekend, we wouldn’t have been able to buy the used car (without a job). #perfecttiming

Four years ago we moved across the country, and left everything and everyone we knew for this job that is suddenly no more. #cruelirony

I believe that God has a plan, otherwise it would mean He just went to a lot of work for our demise. I know He doesn’t work that way. I have a choice how I react.

Admittedly, the last few years, we’ve fallen away from church, not necessarily from God, but from involvement in a church. We haven’t been able to find one where everyone feels comfortable, and, honestly we’ve gotten lazy. We aren’t serving like we once did, and we can tell the difference.

I don’t believe God wants to punish us. I believe He wants us to rely on Him, to seek Him out, to lay our burdens at His feet. To remember who brought us to where we are.

So it’s up to us how we use this experience. Our kids are watching how we cope, where we go for comfort, and for strength.

It’s about time they see how their faith can make a huge difference. #countyourblessings

6 thoughts on “When Things Don’t Go as Planned

  1. I can really relate to your story. My husband and I bought a house only weeks before I became unemployed. We also have been looking for a home church since getting married, and have been lazy in our relationship with God. Your words truly spoke to my heart. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Finding a home church is so hard. When we moved, we had been at a small-ish church for 13 years. We know we’ll never find the “same” church experience, but we live in an area of Mega-churches…not what we’re used to. I know it takes time, I just didn’t realize how much. Hope you find the right church for you and your hubby 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I relate to so much of this. I am truly sorry. Losing a job is never an easy situation and I stand in awe as you write so clearly and from the place of someone who knows who she is and what’s genuinely important. Sending you and your family so much love. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Looking for “Me Time” | Write Side of the Road

  4. Pingback: Because I said so… | Write Side of the Road

Leave a Reply

