Does it count if I read a kid’s book?

book-690584

I’m a writer, which means I’m supposed to be a reader. And I am…when I’m not working on my latest novel, blogging, being a mom, working part time, being a wife, cleaning, doing laundry, making dinner…you get the idea. There’s not a lot of time for deep reading…you know…the kind that takes you away for hours at a time. #living the dream

So I went to the library the other day with my husband (he needed a new book – I guess he has the time) and I picked up a couple for my youngest. He’s been spending way to much time in front of a screen, and when he does read, he reads Pokemon manuals (that doesn’t count as reading).

He, of course, was not excited about the books I chose for him, because, well, let’s face it, they didn’t have a lot of pictures on the pages. I didn’t get him “War and Peace,” so what’s he complaining about.

In an effort to prove to him that the books I got were easy summer reads, I picked up one of the books while he was beside me playing Pokemon (or something).

51miRafgwTL._SX340_BO1,204,203,200_“The League of Unexceptional Children” is by Gitty Daneshvari. Gitty also wrote the “School of Fear” series which my daughter liked, so it wasn’t like I was choosing blind. I put some (minimal) research into the choice…I read the cover.

The book was clever and funny, and kept my attention. I liked the message of the book: that unexceptional children, average children, make the best spies because people forget them and they blend in so they are able to do extraordinary things. #averageisawesome

Even as an adult I could relate to what he was saying about “average children.” Aren’t we all, on some level, “average?” Don’t we all fall short of someone else’s measuring stick at some time or another? Or maybe that’s just me. #plainjane

So I DID read something. I DID set the example. But in true child fashion, he doesn’t want to read it because his MOM recommended it. If only I could learn to be more sly. #unexceptionalmom

But I’m recommending “The League of Unexceptional Children” to your elementary readers (maybe 3rd-5th grades). Just don’t tell them you heard it was good. Drop it on the floor next to them next time you’re in the library, and let them find it…like a good unexceptional spy would.

2 thoughts on “Does it count if I read a kid’s book?

  1. Great recommendation! Since I assume your son must be in this age range as well, here’s a few recommended by my fifth grade classes (see…not adults):
    1. I Funny by James Patterson
    2. Maximum Ride by James Patterson (they were on a Patterson kick)
    3. Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

    As for you…that totally counts as reading! #readeverything

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks…now if I can only figure out how to get the recommendation to him so he doesn’t think it’s from a MOM! LOL Maybe a mysterious message will have to come to our house or something!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

