Finding your way home

home-1194441_1920 (1)

I have several people in my life that, for different reasons, have made choices completely contradictory to their nature, their beliefs, and their character. I don’t understand how it all happened. How did they get that far down the road and not look at where they were going?

The problem is that now they find themselves in the position of feeling like they can’t go home again. They’ve screwed up to a point beyond embarrassment, and they think they can’t take it all back, make amends, and go home again. They’ve given up.

It’s tragic.

And it’s not true. They’ve told themselves lies over and over, to the point where those lies have become their truth. #findyourtruth

My heart aches for them. My heart aches for the separation they must feel.

I don’t want that to ever happen to my children. I know I can’t protect them, and I can’t predict their future. But I can equip them.

My kids are going to make mistakes. Big ones. We all do and we all have. Some mistakes are hard to take back because they hurt other people. We have to learn to say “I’m sorry” and really mean it. Some mistakes have long term repercussions. Some people spend their life trying to make up for those mistakes.

But a lot of mistakes involve our own pride.

I want my kids to know there isn’t anything they can do that will ever permanently separate them from my love. Or from God’s love.

No matter how embarrassed they are, I want them to know that I will always love them.

I think the only way to truly show them this is by example. It’s by letting my kids see me loving those people that I mentioned at the top of this blog. I can show them that love is bigger than mistakes.

I can equip my kids by loving them through their mistakes, even the small ones. If I establish a standard, a foundation, that they know they can always come home, then hopefully that will stick with them.

And I will teach them about God’s forgiveness. It’s not a one time lesson, but rather it’s an ongoing relationship.

As for those people I mentioned earlier, I know I can’t change things, and I can’t fix what’s been done, but I love them in spite of. And I pray that they will find their way home.

4 thoughts on “Finding your way home

Leave a Reply

