The crazy things moms (and dads) do to keep themselves sane

model-616189_1920

We all have them, whether we’re willing to admit it or not. I’m talking about those little idiosyncrasies that moms (and dads) do (or have) to help keep their sanity #crazyparenting.

Let’s face it: running a household will also run you ragged. Often, I think I am losing my mind: Didn’t I just set that there? I know I put this in here, where did it go? I just bought these and now they’re empty?! I didn’t even get one!

Today, I’m bearing my secrets, but you can’t tell the kids or the jig is up.

  1. I hide the Bandades. I have to, otherwise when I really needed one the box would be empty. It seems it doesn’t matter how many I buy, if I don’t hide them, we run out. There is always some child with some bruise or bump (that isn’t bleeding, mind you) that only a Bandade, and not just one, will make it all better.
  2. I have a favorite dish sponge. It’s true. There are multiple dish rags and sponges for different jobs. There’s one for heavy scrubbing and grease and there’s one for light dinner clean up, and never the two shall meet. I can’t count the number of times I’ve caught my husband ruining the “light duty” sponge on the burnt on, grease-crusted pan! It happens all the time.
  3. I have my OWN tub of cookie dough. There…my secret is out in the open. There’s something about having fresh from the oven toll house cookies that makes everything okay. I will ONLY share if it’s a brand new tub, or I am headed to the store the next day, so as not to be caught without any. Besides, the kids have their own, less sugary snacks. I know…I might be certifiable on that one.
  4. I have a favorite spatula. Now I know I’m not alone on this, because one of my friend’s has the same spatula and it’s her favorite too. It’s super thin, so it slides easily under cookies, quesadillas, or anything that a thicker spatula would mess up. When it finally needs to be replaced, I might cry, because I’ve never seen another one quite like it anywhere.
  5. I get first choice at what we watch on TV in the evening. Hey, I’ve earned it. I sat through enough Dora the Explorer, Wiggles, and Caillou while the kids were little. Time for some pay back. Besides, my husband and the older child don’t even watch TV in the evening. So it’s just me and my son, and fortunately, we have the same taste in sitcoms.

As I reflect on this list, and I’m sure my husband could add a heap more to it, I’m reminded that I might have a little too much in common with Sheldon on The Big Bang Theory, and I have to admit, that frightens me a little. But not enough to change any of it.

What about you? Do you have a favorite spatula? A secret stash of cookies? Do you do something that might be certifiable too? I’d love to know I’m not alone.

 

3 thoughts on “The crazy things moms (and dads) do to keep themselves sane

  1. i put water bottles in my room,,or the kids will drink one after the other..i put my own snacks in my room..in fact when i buy snacks for the kids i separate them evenly into zip lock baggies and they keep theirs in their own room..keeps if fair,,ones not getting more than the other..i do have favorite dishes,,glasses ,,utensils ect..my OCD..my kitchen – dishes ,, food everything has its place ( certain shelves ) and thats where i want it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: “Scientific Experiments” I perform on my family | Write Side of the Road

Leave a Reply

