How Kids Behave…Especially Mine

kids-835153_1280

I’m amazed at what people (especially kids) think is acceptable behavior at other people’s houses. The following is a list (The Good, The Bad and the Ugly) of what I would want to know about MY kids’ behavior if they are a guest in someone’s home.

First, the Bad and Ugly.

I would want to know…

  1. If my kid was rude at your home.
  2. If my kid doesn’t wait his/her turn.
  3. If my kid speaks harshly to another.
  4. If my kid breaks any or all of the rules.
  5. If my kid jumps on your furniture or gets into your stuff.
  6. If my kid is disrespectful.
  7. If my kid doesn’t clean up after him/herself.
  8. If my kid lies or is sneaky.
  9. If my kid is a bad influence.
  10. If my kid breaks a promise.

CONVERSELY, I would also want to know…

  1. If my kid goes out of his/her way to help someone.
  2. If my kid is especially polite.
  3. If my kid tells the truth no matter what.
  4. If my kid helps without being asked.
  5. If my kid says “please” and “thank you.”
  6. If my kid uses good judgment.
  7. If my kid stands up for what’s right.
  8. If my kid is a good influence.
  9. If my kid follows all the rules.
  10. If my kid shows grace and mercy.

It’s important for me to know how my kids behave when I send them out into the world. I want to know whether or not they take to heart what we’ve taught them and that they carry those things out into the world with them. I know they’re not perfect, trust me…I know. And I don’t expect them to be. But I do expect them to be polite enough to be invited back, and to know that there are fundamentals to building their reputation now, that will reflect on them later.

Leave a Reply

