Praying Out Loud

praying-614374_1920

Some people have the gift of prayer. Their prayers are eloquent, and focused, and roll off their tongues as if their reading straight from the book of Psalms.

I am not one of those people.

When I’m in a group of people and am asked, or worse…expected, to pray out loud, I get very nervous. Suddenly my tongue gets tied up in knots and my prayer comes out sounding like that of a first grader, no offense to any first graders.

I remember being part of a women’s Bible study where we sat in a circle, joined hands, and took turns praying out loud for one another at the close of each meeting.

It terrified me. It was the worst part of the meeting. They must have picked up on my “first grade” quality prayers, because they changed policy and said that if you weren’t comfortable praying out loud, you could squeeze the hand of the woman next to you, and she would skip to her turn. God bless whoever sat next to me.

There’s nothing better than being the recipient of a prayer from someone who can actually put their words together like that of the poetry of David. It’s beautiful.

I always feel like I’ve short-changed the recipient of my prayer: “Dear God, please help so-and-so with their situation, Amen.” Short and to the point…not so eloquent. If only the words rolled off my tongue as easily as they do my pen.

Fortunately, God doesn’t care how my prayer sounds.

All He cares about is whether or not I pray. Whether it’s one word or a 50-stanza verse; He just wants me to pray. Even better that I’m praying for someone else.

 

So, let your words be short,

Let your words be true

So long as they’re from the heart

It’s amazing what God will do.

4 thoughts on “Praying Out Loud

  1. Oh man, I hate to pray publicly. When my family gathers, my Mom always looks to me to lead the group prayer because she knows I am spiritually minded. And I have been in those painful small group and Sunday School moments. I can’t concentrate on the lesson for trying to come up with a script in my head. Yet when I pray alone, I have no problem. It’s simply anxiety. And I know this is silly. I always go back to the following scripture, finding comfort in my simplicity:

    “And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.” Matthew 6:7-8.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

