Having A Friend

personal-804763_1280

It’s amazing how much my attitude and outlook on life can change after I talk to my best friend.

This past week was a hard one. Lots of anxiety and frustration. My kids could sense it, and I’m certain my husband, if he weren’t such a good man, would have headed for the door screaming. I had wandered into the “pit of despair” (when you read that, picture the torturer in Princess Bride saying it…that’s how I heard it in my head).

Having isolated myself, which is not entirely my fault, and having Dr. Phil and my computer my only friends, has not been good for me. Paints a pathetic picture doesn’t it?

But then I was able to talk to my best friend. She lives 2000 miles away, but when we talk on the phone (we never text) it’s like we’re sitting in Starbucks just like we used to before we each moved.

She gets me. She is my “peeps.”

We share most of the same opinions on life, the same love for Christ, the same views on family, and we can discuss without offending on the rare occasions that we disagree.

Every woman needs a friend like that.

There’s something to be said for good old conversation.

When we first started talking, I was stressed out and felt the weight of the world on my shoulders. And she let me wallow, and even commiserated with me, but that didn’t last long. Soon we were talking about the most random things and laughing about each other’s lives, offering support and suggestions.

It made me realize how important true friendship really is to me.

I believe true friends are made in the nitty-gritty of life.

When you’re knee deep in mire, true friends roll up their sleeves of their best dress, and jump in to give you a hand. If you’re lucky, you will have at least one of those people in the course of your life. Hold on to them for all their worth.

True friendship means that you’re not always going to get along, but you’re always going to make up.

True friends tell you the truth, even if it hurts…it’s part of the definition of who they are: true = truth.

True friends will let you go where you need to, but have sense enough not to let you fall off the edge.

True friends pick up the phone; they don’t just send you a text.

True friendships pick up right where they left off, even if twenty years have passed. To them, lost time is just a condition of life, not a condition of friendship.

True friendships are living breathing entities that require nourishment to stay alive.

True friendships are mutual. They don’t keep score.

I’m thankful that I have a friend like that.

How important are friendships in your life?

6 thoughts on “Having A Friend

  1. Lisa, you have a gift in your friend. I have a friend like that. She lives about 1000 miles from me, but we try and talk about every week. Those moments are my sanity moments, especially when the days are CRAZY. Friendships are very important to me. God has been sweet to give me friends here in town who also deepen my life. And hopefully I deepen theirs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

