Remembering to Forget

heart-229727_1280

I was moving some furniture around when I came across an old hand written note from my daughter. It was a heartfelt apology to me. It was sweet, and mature, and I can’t for the life of me remember the circumstances around it. Neither can she.

I think that’s good, in a way.

We’ve all heard the expression “Don’t sweat the small stuff.” At the time, gauging by the emotion of the note, it wasn’t small stuff. But in the overall scheme of things, at least in my mind, it is long forgotten. We’ve moved on, we’ve gotten past whatever it was that seemed so important that day.

As much as we need to teach our kids to be responsible for their actions, we need to show them that we don’t hold grudges. That we too, get over things. There is no score keeping in the parent-child relationship. There can’t be.

We’re called to forgive, to turn the other cheek, when someone doesn’t act according to our will; when they hurt us, or we hurt them.

Imagine how cluttered with baggage life would be if we held on to every transgression. Imagine how heavy that baggage would get.

With the recent holidays, some of us may have come across our own reminders of hurt, or repacked old wounds or feelings of regret. I hope as the New Year approaches we can remember to stop and unpack once in awhile.

Forgiveness is a gift to both the giver and the receiver. When we find remnants of past hurt, we can get over it, move on, and stay on our journey.

I’m not one to make “New Year’s Resolutions,” if you will. I never really remember them after a few weeks. Perhaps it’s a major character flaw of mine, or maybe I’m just a realist.

But one resolution I will continue, is to remember to forget.

Are you able to remember to forget or do you hold on to things for too long?

2 thoughts on “Remembering to Forget

  1. This post is a beautiful sentiment of the notion “forgive and forget.” I have notes of apology from my daughter, too, and it always makes me feel so bad when she feels so remorseful for something I’ve already forgiven her for. Though I tell her time and again I forgive her before she even asks, just as God does for me, she still puts herself through this circle of misery about it.

    If I’m honest, my reflection doesn’t bode much different. I’m good at forgiving my daughter, but not at forgiving myself…and in turn not that great at forgiving others that have hurt me.

    My word for 2016 is obedience. And perhaps, I should lump God’s sentiments on forgiveness in there as a first point of action.
    Thank you for sharing your heart.
    Happy Wednesday,
    Megs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

