Spinning Out of Control

girl-586990_640I remember when my kids were little they would spin around in circles, arms outstretched, endlessly, and never get dizzy. Once in a while they would spin long enough they would fall down laughing, only to get back up and do it again.

Oh, who am I kidding; they’re 9 and 13 and they STILL do it!

Sometimes life feels like that; spinning endlessly, out of control. But when I fall down, I’m usually not laughing. I think I need to take a lesson from them.

There are days when I’m busy and things fall into place, like a well-oiled machine. And then there are days like today. I look around, it’s nearly time for the first one to get home from school, and I’ve done, well…let’s just say I’ve gotten a lot of spinning out of the way for the day.

It’s funny how we teach our kids to be resilient, encouraging them with every spin they make. But when we, as parents spin until we fall, we can’t handle it. We criticize ourselves for not spinning correctly, or for too long, or for falling down in the first place. Or maybe I’m alone…maybe that’s just me.

We teach them to be inventive and resourceful, seizing every opportunity given to them. But how often do we do that? How much time do we spend creating opportunity as opposed to keeping busy until we stumble upon it?

If we admit it, we’re a lot like they are. Given the opportunity to “do our homework” or “play on the computer,” which do we choose? Be honest. But again, maybe it’s just me.

I think it has something to do with the time of year. With the holidays upon us, we’ve got lists running through our heads, cookies to bake, events to attend, and things to accomplish in addition to our regularly scheduled activities. It gets crazy.

Maybe I need to just spin for a while, arms outstretched, until I fall down laughing. Hopefully I don’t sprain something in the process, as I’m a lot further from the ground than my 9-year old.

Please tell me it isn’t just me.

4 thoughts on “Spinning Out of Control

  1. Yep, it’s just you! Kidding. Trying to put a positive ‘spin’ (ha ha) on your spinning – I think spinning can be good, as who wants to stop spinning. When we stop, we die. Oh hang on. That doesn’t sound positive at all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

