Christmas Traditions

This is the year it all changed.christmas-701144_1280

My kids’ tastes in cartoons have outgrown mine.

I watched “The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown”…alone; “The Grinch”… halfway through, I was alone; and I expect that “A Charlie Brown Christmas” will be alone too.

I was lamenting years of old when they’d bargain to stay up late to watch their favorite Rankin/Bass production just to sing with the Heat Miser. So this year, when I was the one bargaining for my kids’ time to watch the family favorites, and to decorate the tree and bake cookies, I found it mildly heartbreaking.

As their mom, with the help of their dad, I always felt it was my job to bring the spirit of the holidays to life for them. When they were younger, it was easy. Just the arrival of the Toy’r’Us catalog was enough to send them into full-blown Christmas hysteria. But that didn’t do it this year.

I have to admit, I was a little down. We have a tradition of decorating for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving. I know it’s early, but everyone is home and available. You do what you have to.

Thankfully, as we started to decorate, some old traditions came out of storage too. We still put up the Nativity grandma made for us, and the kids reminisced over each ornament as they pulled it from the boxes. They argued over how the Christmas village should be set up on the table, and whether the new ornaments we added to the collection last year came from Tennessee or California.

And though the background music playlist changed from Rudolph and Frosty to Miku Hatsune Christmas music (I didn’t believe it until I heard it) and the Waitresses, Big Crosby and Nat King Cole still got their allotted time too.

We’ve always done things like Operation Christmas Child and various charities, but this year the kids are old enough to participate on their own and understand the bigger picture of what they’re doing. And we’ll still have fondue on Christmas Eve and open presents and go to the Candlelight service at church.

So I guess it didn’t ALL change. I think I’m going to hold on to those precious traditions with everything I’ve got. Yep, I’m gonna be THAT Mom.

What are some of the traditions that you hold on to year after year?

6 thoughts on “Christmas Traditions

  1. Eeek, ours are still young and compliant. I know it won’t be long before they find our little traditions tiresome. We watch the same old films, although, much to my disappointment Charlie Brown’s Christmas is not shown on UK TV. Good grief! Nevertheless, we still enjoy the same rubbish films, and always open a box of Heroes whilst we decorate the tree. And, for now, I’m grateful for these tiny celebrations. I know it’ll one day change. Ug!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You have been interviewed by kally of middleme; and that lead me to your beautiful blog…I muat must say that I am very delighted to know that there are a lot of intelligent, interesting and educated women who opted to stay at home and raise wonderful kids ..and your one of them..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

