Time for Change…Stepping Out in Faith

Leaves and sunJust as the ending of one season gives birth to the next, so go the seasons in life.

Change is good. Change is necessary. Change is scary. But change is also temporary. And change requires faith. Faith that God has a better plan, a bigger plan, and a plan that is better suited to me.

I like one on-line dictionary’s definition of change: to make the form, nature, content, future course, etc., of (something) different from what it is or from what it would be if left alone.

The key for me is “from what it would be if left ALONE.” We weren’t built to be left alone. Not all the time, at least.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the solitude of writing and blogging, but if that’s all there is, than I just exist.

What evidence is there that I was ever here? What footprint did I leave? What influence did I have? What connections did I make? Who was I ever responsible to, or for? Whose life will I ever affect? Who am I not allowing into my life for fear of change? What am I missing out on? How did I change?

At times, change requires the presence of other people. Even if you’re an island, surrounded by strangers, we need that human connection. We need to know that we affected someone, and were affected by someone.

So I’m embracing this change with all the faith I have, that something better is waiting around the corner.

Faith that change will make it different from what it would have been if left ALONE.

How does change affect you? Do you run from it or to it? Have you ever stepped out in faith to be pleasantly surprised by the outcome? Please feel free to share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

