I Might Never Get Published

I recently came to terms with the fact that I might never be published. I realized I could do everything right and still NEVER make it to the top of the slush pile…EVER.

I had to re-evaluate why it is I write. I think for most writers the ultimate goal is getting published. But for me, getting published became distracting – from my family, from my activities, and, ultimately, from my writing.

So I wrote myself a manifesto of sorts and gave myself permission to write with abandon and set my muse free.

It was liberating as I felt the burden lift. I don’t want to miss my life while pursuing something that may never happen. Statistics show the odds are clearly not in the writer’s favor.

Writing for me is a joy. There’s no better feeling than when the words are flying out of my brain faster than I can write them down.

I want my words to inspire, to make people think, and to entertain. Writing happens as a result of our shared experiences. I had to find a way to get back to the joy. For me, letting go was the answer.

What distracts you from living your life the way you want to? Has something that you enjoy turned into a burden? How do you find balance between pursuing a dream and keeping it in perspective?

One thought on “I Might Never Get Published

  1. Pingback: Writing for my toughest critics…my kids | Write Side of the Road

Leave a Reply

