Writing Goals

I am a list maker. I’m not sure why or when it started, but it works for me. Recently I’ve had a lot of trouble finding uninterrupted writing time. Just when I get an idea or a moment of inspiration, it’s time to go to bed, or time to make dinner, or it just isn’t, well, my time. Does that sound selfish? I hope not. In fact, since I started this piece, and mentioned to my family that I got inspired, I’ve been interrupted several times…in only 7 sentences! Thank God for my dear husband, who has agreed to rally the troops into the other room for a few minutes.

So, back to my list. Years ago I made a list of 101 things I wanted to accomplish in my life. It actually wasn’t easy to come up with 101 things, and it took a lot longer than I expected. I recently found the list, and it was fun to see what I’ve accomplished as well as what I set out to accomplish, and still have yet to accomplish.

Lists keep me motivated and organized. There’s something about seeing it written down that makes it valid, and embeds it into my brain.

I thought that at least if I couldn’t get enough uninterrupted time to write a complete thought, then maybe I could at least make a list and set some more goals, some writing goals. Some that I can actually accomplish on a day-to-day basis. I hope you can find some inspiration in list. And please comment if you have any of your own to share.

  1. Write daily, even if it’s chicken scratch.
  2. Don’t worry about getting published right now.
  3. Think big, write small.
  4. Don’t get lost in the publishing process.
  5. Write because I love it, not because I want to be published.
  6. Write what I want to write: poetry, prose, essay, a letter, a thank you note, the grocery list.
  7. Don’t worry so much about the elusive “rules”.
  8. Follow my own path.
  9. Follow my own timeline.
  10. Write to leave a legacy to the people who matter most.
  11. Don’t steal time away from my family.
  12. Write what is good and pleasing.
  13. Write what I feel: nobody ever has to see it.
  14. Make memories to write about.
  15. Write stories for my children.
  16. Write about the details of life.
  17. Write about the heartaches in life.
  18. Write about the joys in life.
  19. Don’t stare at a blank screen.
  20. If the words won’t come, then draw the story.
  21. Not everybody will like what I write.
  22. Stay authentic.
  23. Start a word journal.
  24. Write dialogue.
  25. Write a love letter.
  26. Write a eulogy.
  27. Write a genre that I wouldn’t normally prefer (and then laugh at how bad it turns out).
  28. Create some writing prompts.
  29. Find an old story, and write it again.
  30. Re-write a scene from a different point of view.
  31. Write in a different voice.
  32. Come up with story themes.
  33. Try writing flash fiction.
  34. Look through old photographs, and write about an old memory.
  35. Write down true events in story form to pass down to family members.
  36. Ask relatives to tell me about a childhood memory, and write it down.
  37. Make a story family tree.
  38. Recount a moment in history and change the ending.
  39. Be okay with what I write.
  40. Know that there’s a reason it’s called a first draft.
  41. Don’t sacrifice my joy for the need to be published.
  42. Remember that it’s okay if I never get an agent.
  43. Remember that creativity is a gift.
  44. Nurture that gift in my children.
  45. Take advice to heart, but also with a grain of salt.
  46. I am my best critic.
  47. Write for reasons bigger than myself.
  48. Write the end before the beginning.
  49. Write…and then write again.
  50. Write for God.
Leave a Reply

